Yann Loisel Releases debut LP Upon The Road

Yann Loisel Releases debut LP Upon The Road
Yann Loisel Releases debut LP Upon The Road

After several months of work, the first part of Yann Loisel’s debut LP “Upon The Road“ is about to be released. Following the two singles „Down By The River“ (videoclip premiered on Reggaeville) and „Roaming Lion“, Upon The Road Part I is finally ready to be released.

Recorded in Germany, France and Mexico, Yann Loisel’s debut is the result of an international collaboration with renown artists such as The Evolution Band, Lengualerta (Mexico), Longfingah and Sebastian Sturm. The two singles released earlier this year have already been played on numerous radio shows around the globe.

Most of the recording work has been done at the very heart of Berlins reggae scene, the Planet Earth Studio. Mixed by Aldubb and mastered by Ganjaman, the songs were performed by members of the Evolution Band (Gentleman) and Tribuman on the horns (Naâman, Apple Gabriel, Earl16…). Produced by Alex Brechow (iLLBiLLY HiTEC), Upon The Road Part I presents a roots sound, far away from the common Reggae Clichés, yet at the core of this music. Putting electronic effects aside, the tunes are characterized by clean compositions and a live sound. English, Spanish and French lyrics navigate between energetic and committed tracks, positive vibration and melancholy.

Born on an island on the French Atlantic coast, Yann Loisel grew up listening to Reggae, Blues, Jazz, and Hip Hop. These early musical influences shaped his interpretation of Roots Reggae. His groove-based and clean composition are leaving the vibes and energy as the main drivers of his music, underpinning his committed and spiritual influenced lyrics.

After playing in several bands over the past years he concentrates now on his solo career. In April 2021, the charismatic musician released his DIY EP “Welcome To My Kitchen”, a corona project recorded in his kitchen in Berlin. Anyhow, this laid-back project led to first Radio-Plays, Reviews (e.g. Pull-Up Mag, Radio Krimi, …) and marked the begin of his collaboration with members of the Evolution Band (Gentleman) and producers from the Berlin Reggae community.

Screenshot 2022 09 28 at 17.14.18

Track Listing

  1. Roaming Lion
  2. Shot feat. Sebastian Sturm
  3. Leave This Place
  4. Brainwash feat. Lengualerta
  5. Down By The River
Next articleJon Moon presents his new single Once again
The sound of Reggae is widely recognised because of its acoustically formed bass and drum downbeat, and its offbeat rhythm section. With such a diversity in style it is also considered complex enough to attract progressively minded musicians. A music that has a strong association with dance covering a variety of styles while also offering a background beat for those sharing Biblical chants of Zion. It is hard to ignore Reggae’s influence and how it interacts with our day-to-day lives. Shared as background music for films and advertising driving its heavy bass lines literally felt wherever rock and pop are played. Reggae has an affinity with mainstream British pop; recognised within the hip-hop culture and considered “cool” by those with no connection to Jamaica. As lovers of reggae my aim is to build a community of reggae followers that can share thoughts, news, events as listeners, artists, DJ’s and hosts.