Musical genres, generations combine for ‘Yardie’ … soundtrack officially released Friday


Universal-Island Records has released the official soundtrack album for Idris Elba’s feature film, ‘Yardie’.

The album features the songs by artists such as Lord Creator, Yellowman, The Isley Brothers, Culture, Grace Jones, The Roots Radics, The Heptones and Skip Marley.

The soundtrack was released on Friday and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. A vinyl and a CD version are also in the works.

Yardie is directed by Elba and sees a host of Jamaicans starring in the flick, including Shantol Jackson, Sheldon Shepherd and Everaldo Creary.

The crime drama is based on the cult novel by Victor Headley and centres on a young Jamaican named ‘D’ who arrives in London in the early 1980s and unexpectedly discovers the man who assassinated his revered brother in Jamaica a decade earlier.

The movie premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and is expected to be released in British theatres on August 31.

The official listing for the soundtrack is highlighted below.

1. Kingston Town Lord Creator

2. Zungguzungguguzungguzeng Yellowman

3. Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner Black Uhuru

4. My Jamaican Guy Grace Jones

5. Work To Do The Isley Brothers

6. Holy Mount Zion – Culture

7. Dedication to Dean Fraser & Nambo The Roots Radics

8. Revolution Dennis Brown

9. Prophecy Fabian

10. Satta Amassa Gana The Abyssinians

11. Book of Rules The Heptones

12. War Ina Babylon Max Romeo & The Upsetters

13. Marcus Garvey Burning Spear

14. Johnny Was Skip Marley

Yardie was shot on location in London and Jamaica and marks Elba’s directorial debut.

Previous articleJah Cure looks at life on new single
Next articleBlack History Month 2018 – Acknowledgement from Reggae Revellers
The sound of Reggae is widely recognised because of its acoustically formed bass and drum downbeat, and its offbeat rhythm section. With such a diversity in style it is also considered complex enough to attract progressively minded musicians. A music that has a strong association with dance covering a variety of styles while also offering a background beat for those sharing Biblical chants of Zion. It is hard to ignore Reggae’s influence and how it interacts with our day-to-day lives. Shared as background music for films and advertising driving its heavy bass lines literally felt wherever rock and pop are played. Reggae has an affinity with mainstream British pop; recognised within the hip-hop culture and considered “cool” by those with no connection to Jamaica. As lovers of reggae my aim is to build a community of reggae followers that can share thoughts, news, events as listeners, artists, DJ’s and hosts.